Review: ‘The Geography of Lost Things’ By Jessica Brody

‘The Geography of Lost Things’

By Jessica Brody

Publisher: Simon Pulse
Date: 2018
Pages: 458
Fiction/Non-Fiction: Fiction
Genre:  Contemporary
Days to Read: 97
Purchase Locations: Amazon & Kindle Book Depository Booktopia Dymocks QBD

In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.

After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does?

Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans.

He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected.

And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears. 

‘The Geography of Lost Things’ was 100% a cover buy for me. I saw the cover and loved it and wanted to own a copy.

We follow Ali as she takes a road trip to sell her dad’s car, which he had left to her. She ends up with an unlikely companion on her travels, her ex boyfriend, Nico. Through the trip they begin to discuss there past and Ali tries to stick to her own rules for this road trip.

Ali as a main character that I really didn’t have an opinion about. She was just kind of there.

Generally it took me WAY longer than it usually does to finish ‘The Geography of Lost Things’. I don’t really know if it was just because it was a contemporary (which usually take me longer) or if I just wasn’t connecting with the story itself but I didn’t really enjoy my time reading it. It may of been the pace or the repetition but I just can’t put my finger on it.

If you are someone that likes contemporary’s than you might like this one.

Plot: 3/10
Ease of reading: 4/10
Character Development: 5/10
World Building: 3/10
Quality of Writing: 6/10
Stars: 2/5

One thought on “Review: ‘The Geography of Lost Things’ By Jessica Brody

Add yours

  1. Pingback: August Wrap up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: