‘Heartstopper: Volume 2’ By Alice Oseman Review

Heartstopper
Volume 2
By Alice Oseman

Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books
Date: 2019
Pages: 296
Fiction/Non-Fiction: Fiction
Genre:  Contemporary
Days to Read: 1
Purchase Locations: Amazon and Kindle Book Depository Booktopia Dymocks

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.

Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie’s gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn’t.

But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family … and himself.

Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

This is the second volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.

I picked up ‘Heartstopper: Volume 2’ as part of the N.E.W.T.S readathon. I knew I was going to pick this book up as soon as I could and it was completely perfect that it fit a prompt for the N.E.W.T.S

In Heartstoppers we follow Nick and Charlie as they explore their friendship and a potential relationship. It is such a cute story! I honestly completely devoured it, although I can’t really get into much of the plot because I am not here to ruin the first book for anyone.

I love all the characters in this book. They are all so lovely. I love the portrayal of LGBTQ characters and their relationships within their family. I think its something that isn’t portrayed in many books I’ve read.

The main setting is an all boys school in England which shows Charlie struggling with being gay in that environment as well as showing the supportive friends he has found throughout his high experience.

I cannot wait until the next book comes out in this series, it is a complete joy to read and honestly just makes me feel so happy.

Plot: 8/10
Ease of reading: 10/10
Character Development: 8/10
World Building: 7/10
Quality of Writing: 7/10
Stars: 5/5

One thought on “‘Heartstopper: Volume 2’ By Alice Oseman Review

Add yours

  1. Pingback: September Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: